Hearty & O’Connor share the spoils


From the start the 2015 Autocare Formula Sheane Championship has delivered close racing and excitement and this was no different in rounds 7 and 8 at Kirkistown, Ireland's fastest track. It was clear from qualifying that we were going to have a battle on our hands, Brian Hearty taking pole from Enda O'Connor by just .015 sec.


As they fired away from the line in race One, it appeared everyone got away cleanly but at the final hairpin contact between Kevin Sheane and Keith Hogg sent the pair spinning down the order with Hogg later retiring from the race with damage. This allowed Hearty, Parks and O’Connor to pull away from the pack and battle it out for first, with O’Connor coming home to take the win followed by Hearty in second and Parks in third. Further down the field an incident at the last corner of the race involving the three cars of Linnane, McCabe and O'Flynn resulted in O’Flynn failing to finish whilst Linnane and McCabe limped over the finishing line with damage to both cars. While in the Sheane Cars Scholarship Championship Andrew Murphy, after a cracking drive, took his maiden victory ahead of Brendan Carr in second and Daniel Clarkin in third.


For race Two, O'Connor lined up on pole from Hearty with Sheane in third. Again everyone got away cleanly but at the end of lap one Parks was the biggest winner and had made his way into the lead with a train of six cars following close behind led by Hearty. Parks managed to pull a strong gap before engine woes slowed his pace. There were battles all the way down the field but with only a few laps to go Hearty reeled Parks in and found himself a way past, leaving Parks to battle with O’Connor and as the pair entered the last corner they both braked too late and spun off leaving Richard Kearney to glide into second place with O’Connor rounding out the top three, with Niall O'Flynn taking the win in the Sheane Cars Scholarship Championship from Andrew Murray and Daniel Clarkin.


The Championship now moves into its last few rounds of this year’s series with one final visit to Kirkistown Race Circuit at the end of the month to decide who will be the 2015 Northern Irish Formula Sheane Champion and then it’s on to the Leinster Trophy weekend in September in Mondello Park for the season finale of the Auto Care Formula Sheane Championship. With all three championships ever so tight, it’s going to go down to the wire and you can assured that the action will increase from here on out.


This piece was written by our guest blogger, Ginette Junior Ireland ace Charlie Linnane, Charlie’s nominations for driver are the weekend are a toss-up between Andrew Murphy and Niall O’Flynn for their sterling performances in the Sheane Cars Scholarship Championship. #FormulaSheane #NorthernIrishChampionship #AutoCare #BuyIrishRaceIrish

Latest News

2019 Drivers ListHere's the list of drivers which have been confirmed to take part in the 2019 Formula Sheane... (Read more...)
2019 dates out nowThe 2019 Formula Sheane race dates are available now... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Update January 2019Hi. Apologies for the lack of activity on our website for the past couple of years. That's all going to change hopefully with Philip Sheane keeping us up to date in future. Philip is a 17-year-old fifth year student at Colaiste Chill Mhantain, younger brother of triple Formula Sheane Championship winner Kevin Sheane... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Shines at Formula Vee festivalThis weekend Mondello Park Hosted the latest rounds of the Formula Sheane Championship at the formula vee festival. Going into these two races it was the 2017 Champion Dave Parks... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane championship head to Mondello for the Formula vee festivalIrelands premier racing series head to Mondello Park international race circuit for the 2018 formula vee festival in aid of LauraLynn childrens hospice... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Rounds 3 & 4 Press ReleaseThis weekend the Irelands premier racing series headed to Bishopscourt racing circuit northern Ireland for rounds 3&4 of the 2018 championship... (Read more...)
Dave Parks voted Driver of the YearFormula Sheane driver David Parks was voted driver of the year by after a stunning 2017 season for both him and the Vertical Racing Team! Dave Parks won the Formula Sheane championship, as well as the Northern Irish Championship and Holmpatrick Trophy... (Read more...)