Formula Sheane Championship 2013 Round1

Kirkistown was the venue for the First round of the Micks Garage.Com Formula Sheane Championship. We had a great entry of 15 cars all looking fresh and well after the winter break. Most drivers tested on Friday and all of the "shake downs" went well for both cars and drivers.

Saturday was the day when the action really got going, although the weather has been unseasonably cold Saturday morning started bright and cold but dry. Qualifying was scheduled for 11 o clock. All drivers survived without incident and results showed that we were in for an exciting race. Brian Hearty continuing his rapid ways of last year took pole by .40 of a second from Kevin Sheane and Anton Savage however Robbie Allen, Keith Hogg, Barry Rabbitt and Eoin Crowley were all in hot pursuit. Gary Corcoran, John Linnane, Mick Sammon, Tim Swail, Daniel Clarkin, David Parks, Aidan Byrne and Jennifer Mullan made up the rest of the field.

The race was set for mid afternoon conditions were perfect for racing and we were not to be dissappionted. Kevin Sheane took the lead from the start but he had Robbie Allen, Brian Hearty and Anton Savage in close company, Keith Hogg, Barry Rabbitt and David Parks were locked in the next battle,Gary Corcoran, John Linnane, Tim Swail, Eoin Crowley,Aiden Byrne, Daniel Clarken, Jennifer Mullan and Mick Sammon were all locked in a great tussle for the remaining places.Jennifer Mullan had an unfortunate puncture and despite furious work by her pit crew she dropped back in the order but did manage to finish. Mick Sammon had a spin from which he did not recover and as a result did not finish. Up front things could not have been more furious .It was two abreast all over the circuit four cars trying to outbreak and outmanoeuvre each other.It was breath taking stuff with less than two minutes to go Robbie Allen had what looked like a harmless half spin, Anton Savage made contact which damaged his steering and was out. Robbie had to retire shortly after with suspension damage which released Brian Hearty and Kevin Sheane who fought on unaware of what had happened behind them. The race was red flagged (stopped) because of damaged cars in dangerous positions on the circuit. Kevin Sheane took the win with Brian Hearty in second and Robbie Allen was credited with third place.Remaining places went to Hogg, Parks, Rabbitt, Corcoran, Crowley, Linnane, Swail, Byrne, Clarkin and Mullan. Both spectators and commentators alike reckoned that this was one of the races of the weekend.

In Formula Sheane we have a Scholarship Championship (B championship)The results of which were 1. Gary Corcoran, 2. Eoin Crowley, 3. Aidan Byrne, 4. Daniel Clarken and 5. Jennifer Mullan.

Race results and report are based on the last official results issued by D. Quigley at 16.36pm.

Latest News

Formula Sheane Shines at Formula Vee festivalThis weekend Mondello Park Hosted the latest rounds of the Formula Sheane Championship at the formula vee festival. Going into these two races it was the 2017 Champion Dave Parks.....(Read more...)
Formula Sheane championship head to Mondello for the Formula vee festivalIrelands premier racing series head to Mondello Park international race circuit for the 2018 formula vee festival in aid of LauraLynn childrens hospice.....(Read more...)
Formula Sheane Rounds 3 & 4 Press ReleaseThis weekend the Irelands premier racing series headed to Bishopscourt racing circuit northern Ireland for rounds 3&4 of the 2018 championship....(Read more...)
Dave Parks voted Driver of the YearFormula Sheane driver David Parks was voted driver of the year by after a stunning 2017 season for both him and the Vertical Racing Team! Dave Parks won the Formula Sheane championship, as well as the Northern Irish Championship and Holmpatrick Trophy...(Read more...)
Rounds 5+6 of the 2017 championship by Robbie ParksRounds 5/6 of the Avon tyres Formula Sheane championship took place this past weekend with an action packed days racing on Saturday . The day started with heavy rain and poor conditions which didn’t last very long and half way through the Formula Sheane qualifying the track began to dry...(Read more...)
The 2016 Avon Tyres Formula Sheane Championship story so far...The 2016 campaign kicked off back in April on Mondello Parks National Circuit loop, with the current champion not defending the title this year, the championship is guaranteed a new winner. After the long winter break the drivers were back more eager than ever to take the honours in Ireland’s fastest one make single seater series...(Read more...)
Rounds 1 & 2 of the 2016 Avon Tyres Formula Sheane ChampionshipThe eagerly awaited opening Rounds of the Avon Tyres Formula Sheane Championship commenced last weekend the 16th and 17th of April at Co. Kildare’s Mondello Park. With an entry list of 6 different race winners and a handful of drivers who should be challenging for the top step of the podium... (Read more...)
Avon Formula Sheane Championship 2016It is with great excitement that the Formula Sheane Committee can today announce its new title sponsor for the 2016 Campaign. Avon Tyres have teamed up with Formula Sheane to bring you... (Read more...)
Round 9 of the Auto Care Formula Sheane ChampionshipThe 2015 Auto Care Formula Sheane Championship visited the ultra-fast Kirkistown Race Circuit for the final time this year for the conclusion of the Northern Irish Championship (Read more..)
Rounds 7 & 8 of the Auto Care Formula Sheane ChampionshipFrom the start the 2015 Autocare Formula Sheane Championship has delivered close racing and excitement and this was no different in rounds 8 and 9 at Kirkistown, Ireland's fastest track (Read more..)
Rounds 5 & 6 of the Auto Care Formula Sheane ChampionshipRounds 5 & 6 of the 2015 Auto Care Formula Sheane Championship took place last week on the Mondello Park International Circuit for the first time since the thrilling season finale last year (Read more..)
Rounds 3 & 4 of the Auto Care Formula Sheane ChampionshipRounds 3 & 4 of the 2015 Auto Care Formula Sheane Championship travelled north of the border to the ultra-fast Bishopscourt race circuit where(Read more..)
Rounds 1 & 2 of the Auto Care Formula Sheane ChampionshipThe long winter break is over and the 2015 Auto Care Formula Sheane Championship is now in full swing after Rounds 1 & 2 took place at Mondello(Read more..)
NEW TITLE SPONSOR ANNOUNCEMENTFormula Sheane is proud to announce the 2015 title sponsor for the series as Auto Care Motor Parts and Accessories!!!(Read more..)
LATEST NEWS - MARCH 2015So the long winter break is over and the start of the 2015 Formula Sheane Championship is fast approaching and is promising to be bigger and better than ever!...... (Read more..)
RACE CALENDAR 2015The 2015 Formula Sheane Race Calendar has been announced..... (Read more...)
LATEST NEWS - FEBRUARY 2014Our awards night on Nov 30 in conjunction with Ginetta Juniors was agreat success, with good food, music, craic...... (Read more..)
RACE CALENDAR 2014The 2014 Formula Sheane Race Calendar has been announced..... (Read more...)
RACE SUMMARY 2013Despite the continuing recession fueled constraints on all ..... (Read more...)
MICKS GARAGE.COM FORMULA SHEANE CHAMPIONSHIP 2013 RD 4 & 5Round 4 and 5 of the MicksGarage.Com Formula Sheane Championship was held in Mondello on Sunday 9th..... (Read more..)
MICKS GARAGE. COM FORMULA SHEANE CHAMPIONSHIP 2013 ROUND 1Kirkistown was the venue for the First round of the Micks Garage.Com Formula Sheane Championship.......(Read more..)