Race Summary 2013

Despite the continuing recession fueled constraints on all leisure pursuits, we had a relatively strong season greatly helped by our sponsors Micks Garage. With 26 drivers managing at least a couple of races each, we had an average of 15 entries culminating in an excellent 20 plus for the end of season Leinster Trophy Meeting.

Up front Brian Hearty pushed Kevin Sheane to the last round with Robbie Allen, Barry Rabbit and David Parks keeping them honest. John Linnane, last years Fun Cup champion had a great season, finishing fourth overall from this years Fun Cup winner Gary Corcoran.

Jennifer Mullen took second in this years Fun Cup from Mondello/Sheane Scholarship winner Steven O'Keeffe. Aidan Byrne, Brendan Carr & Eoin Crowley rounded out the top six at most events.

Formula Sheane maintains its reputation as the friendly Formula. It's the only class where sprea and technical assistance are available at every event. If you have a thump or mechanical woes somebody will help out. To quote one example, Kevin Sheane (this years champion) fitted a gearbox to Barry Rabbits car on the morning of the Leinster Trophy enabling Barry to go on and win the trophy that afternoon!

As usual the Leinster Trophy boasted a high quality grid, Brian Hearty, Barry Rabbit, Kevin Sheane, Enda O'Connor,  Tristin Quinn, Keith Hogg, Tim Swail, Anton Savage, David Parks and Robbie Allen, most of whom were champions in other classes and in Formula Sheane, all possible winners on the day, along with another ten drivers snapping at their gearboxes, including the youngest ever Leinster Trophy competitor Charlie Linnane. In the end Barry pulled off the win ahead of Brian and Enda.

2014 promises to be another good season with most of this years drivers returning, apart from Barry and Jennifer (moving to Ford and Fiestas respectively) but we will have former champion Enda O'Connor and 2011 scholarship winner Sean Hynes returning along with at least two newcomers and the 2014 scholarship winner TBA.


Latest News

Formula Sheane 2019 Rounds 1 & 2 Press ReleaseOur first 2 championship races took place in Mondello on Sunday 14th. While our numbers were not so big 9 starters was a respectable start to the season. The race was as usual competitive and exciting... (Read more...)
2019 Drivers ListHere's the list of drivers which have been confirmed to take part in the 2019 Formula Sheane... (Read more...)
2019 dates out nowThe 2019 Formula Sheane race dates are available now... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Update January 2019Hi. Apologies for the lack of activity on our website for the past couple of years. That's all going to change hopefully with Philip Sheane keeping us up to date in future. Philip is a 17-year-old fifth year student at Colaiste Chill Mhantain, younger brother of triple Formula Sheane Championship winner Kevin Sheane... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Shines at Formula Vee festivalThis weekend Mondello Park Hosted the latest rounds of the Formula Sheane Championship at the formula vee festival. Going into these two races it was the 2017 Champion Dave Parks... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane championship head to Mondello for the Formula vee festivalIrelands premier racing series head to Mondello Park international race circuit for the 2018 formula vee festival in aid of LauraLynn childrens hospice... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Rounds 3 & 4 Press ReleaseThis weekend the Irelands premier racing series headed to Bishopscourt racing circuit northern Ireland for rounds 3&4 of the 2018 championship... (Read more...)
Dave Parks voted Driver of the YearFormula Sheane driver David Parks was voted driver of the year by motorsport.ie after a stunning 2017 season for both him and the Vertical Racing Team! Dave Parks won the Formula Sheane championship, as well as the Northern Irish Championship and Holmpatrick Trophy... (Read more...)