Rounds 5+6 of the 2017 championship by Robbie Parks


Rounds 5/6 of the Avon tyres Formula Sheane championship took place this past weekend with an action packed days racing on Saturday. The day started with heavy rain and poor conditions which didn’t last very long and half way through the Formula Sheane qualifying the track began to dry.



Qualifying was very close and tense with Dave Parks setting the fastest lap for the 1st half of qualifying but it didn’t take long for Kevin Sheane and Brian Hearty to catch up, which led to a nerve-racking session with just 2 tenths separating the top 3 drivers. Pole was taken by Kevin Sheane followed by Brian Hearty and Dave parks then Mark Dunleavey, Richard Kearney, Chris McCabe, Charlie Linnane, Leslie Shaw, Raymond Mckenna and Martin Rafferty.


Race one

By the time the cars were lined up for race one the track was completely dry and the weather was improving rapidly. The 5 second board came up and then the lights came on from the bridge and then they went out , the 10 formula Sheane cars all flew away from the line with Kevin Sheane taking the early lead into turn one followed closely by Dave Parks and Brian Hearty the pack stayed together for a large section of the race but as the race reached its final stages the top 3 drivers pulled away from the pack. After an extremely close battle Brian Hearty managed to pass Dave parks and the final finishing order for race one was.... Kevin Sheane, Brian Hearty, Dave Parks, Mark Dunleavey, Richard Kearney, Chris McCabe, Martin Rafferty, Leslie Shaw, Charlie Linnane and Raymond McKenna.


Race Two

Race two started with sunny perfect conditions, the 10 strong grid of formula Sheanes for the second time flew off the line and powered down toward turn one. Brian Hearty took the early lead with Kevin Sheane behind and David parks in 3rd. Kevin Sheane then managed to get past Brain Hearty and Dave parks was there to swoop in and take second. The order between the front three was now Kevin Sheane in front David Parks in second and Brian Hearty in third. The race progressed and Charlie Linnane made a come back from an off in the back part of the circuit, he managed to climb back up through the grid and battled with Martin Rafferty and Ray McKenna who were showing strong pace all weekend Charlie battled through them and began his hunt for Leslie Shaw.

Back toward the front of the grid it was still nose cone to gearbox for the first three and it looked like it was to stay that way. The cars came into the last corner for the last time and Brian Hearty got back past Dave Parks. Kevin Sheane crossed the line to take the win and make it a double. 2nd and 3rd was still not decided as Dave and Brian were wheel to wheel down the straight until Brian Hearty managed to pull the slightest gap just before the finish line. Leslie shaw crossed the line to take the win in the scholarship championship followed by Charlie Linnane and Martin Raffery the well seasoned midget car driver who made his formula Sheane debut this season in Ireland’s premier racing series. The finishing order for race two was 1: Kevin Sheane, 2: Brian Hearty, 3: David Parks, 4: Mark Dunleavey, 5: Richard Kearney, 6: Chris McCabe, 7:Leslie Shaw, 8: Charlie Linnane, 9: Martin Rafferty, 10: Raymond Mckenna.

Another fantastic weekends racing from the formula Sheane championship well done to all and onward now to the next race.

Latest News

2019 Drivers ListHere's the list of drivers which have been confirmed to take part in the 2019 Formula Sheane... (Read more...)
2019 dates out nowThe 2019 Formula Sheane race dates are available now... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Update January 2019Hi. Apologies for the lack of activity on our website for the past couple of years. That's all going to change hopefully with Philip Sheane keeping us up to date in future. Philip is a 17-year-old fifth year student at Colaiste Chill Mhantain, younger brother of triple Formula Sheane Championship winner Kevin Sheane... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Shines at Formula Vee festivalThis weekend Mondello Park Hosted the latest rounds of the Formula Sheane Championship at the formula vee festival. Going into these two races it was the 2017 Champion Dave Parks... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane championship head to Mondello for the Formula vee festivalIrelands premier racing series head to Mondello Park international race circuit for the 2018 formula vee festival in aid of LauraLynn childrens hospice... (Read more...)
Formula Sheane Rounds 3 & 4 Press ReleaseThis weekend the Irelands premier racing series headed to Bishopscourt racing circuit northern Ireland for rounds 3&4 of the 2018 championship... (Read more...)
Dave Parks voted Driver of the YearFormula Sheane driver David Parks was voted driver of the year by after a stunning 2017 season for both him and the Vertical Racing Team! Dave Parks won the Formula Sheane championship, as well as the Northern Irish Championship and Holmpatrick Trophy... (Read more...)